Cumberland County Juvenile & Under21 DUI Attorney
Defense You Can Count On: 24/7 Emergency Service
If you or a loved one has been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving under the influence of a controlled substance (DUI/DUS), you need to take the matter very seriously. The penalties for DUI are very harsh in Pennsylvania, and you can be facing a loss of your driver's license, extensive fines, jail time, and more. If you are under the age of 21, you will also face the additional penalty of having to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle for up to two years. If you are facing DUI charges and you are under the age of 21, you may be wondering if you will face even harsher penalties because you are a minor. The answer is yes, and the penalties can be even more severe than those that would be imposed on an adult. You may also be wondering if you can get your DUI charges expunged once you have completed the terms of your punishment. You can, but you will have to wait 10 years after you have completed your probation and the DUI-related requirements of your license suspension.
Contact The Dorward Law Firm as soon as possible if you have been arrested for DUI. Our team of attorneys can help. Call us 24/7 at (717) 429-0411.
Underage DUI Penalties in Cumberland County, PA
If you are a minor and you are arrested for DUI, you can be facing very harsh penalties. The state of Pennsylvania does not make any exceptions for DUI charges against minors. Even if you are under the age of 18, you can be charged with DUI and you can be facing the same penalties as an adult. The only exception is that you will not be charged with an aggravated DUI. This is because the state of Pennsylvania does not consider a minor to be old enough to have the intent to cause an accident.
The penalties for a DUI conviction when you are under the age of 21 include:
- Up to 90 days in jail
- Fines of up to $2,500
- License suspension
- Install an IID in your vehicle
If you are convicted of a DUI, you will face a license suspension. This suspension will last for at least 12 months. If you are convicted of an aggravated DUI, you will face a license suspension for at least 18 months. You can be facing an aggravated DUI if you have a prior DUI conviction within the last 10 years. You can also face an aggravated DUI if your BAC level was .16 percent or higher. If this is the case, you will face a license suspension for at least three years.
In addition to the above penalties, you will also be required to install an IID in your vehicle for a period of time. The length of your IID requirement will depend on the circumstances of your case. You may be required to install an IID for up to two years. If you are convicted of an aggravated DUI, you will be required to install an IID for up to three years. You will also be required to pay a monthly monitoring fee of $10 to $30. The IID will be installed in your vehicle and it will prevent you from starting your vehicle if your BAC level is above a certain level. The IID will also require you to submit to random breath tests while you are driving.
Can I Expunge a DUI Charge?
You may be wondering if you can get a DUI charge expunged once you have completed the terms of your punishment. The answer is yes, but you will have to wait 10 years after you have completed your probation and the DUI-related requirements of your license suspension. You will also need to wait 10 years after you have completed the terms of your IID requirement and the other terms of your DUI punishment. If you have been convicted of an aggravated DUI, you will have to wait 20 years after you have completed your probation and the other terms of your punishment. You can petition the court to expunge your record when the waiting period has passed.
Contact Our Firm for a Free Consultation
If you are facing DUI charges when you are under the age of 21, contact a Cumberland County juvenile and underage DUI attorney at The Dorward Law Firm as soon as possible. You are facing very harsh penalties, and you need to have an experienced attorney fighting for you. Our team is available 24/7 and can help you get your charges reduced or dropped. We can also help you obtain a restricted license so that you can continue to work and take care of your responsibilities.
Juvenile Subject to Lifetime Sex Offender Registration Removal From Sex Offender Registration
Homicide by Vehicle While DUI Success on Appeal
Felony Drug Charges Dismissed
DUI Charges for CDL driver Charges Dismissed
Driving Under Suspension DUI Related Charges Dismissed
“He constantly gave me updates as he fought and negotiated with every member of the district court: including the assistant DA, lead DA, judge, and even my arresting officer.”- Marc
“It’s a well known fact that you get what you pay for, but a loss of license, loss of job, and jail time would have cost me a lot more.”- Curt
“I was confronted with a DUI for taking prescription meds 2 days before.”- Dexter
“Wonderful and upfront. Prompt and very very personable”- Zach
“Shawn and this law firm allowed me to get my life back on track as quickly as possible.”- Luke
We are specifically trained in DUI defense. Visit our bio to learn more!
We offer payment plans for your convenience.
Over 10 years of legal experience defending the accused.
We make ourselves available whenever you need us.
We may be able to help you prove: The substances in question did not belong to you The substances in question are not illegal The evidence does not exist for a conviction You were unfairly arrested through entrapment Your property was unlawfully searched Let the Dorward Law Firm help you plan your defense. The sooner you get started, the better your chances will be at a favorable outcome. We want to help you protect yourself, so get started now. If you've been arrested for a drug crime, dial (717) 429-0411 now and schedule your free consultation with our Harrisburg drug crime attorney.